Heaps

  • Heap “English (chiefly Lancashire): habitational name from Heap Bridge in Lancashire, or a topographic name for someone who lived by a hill or heap, from Old English heap ‘heap’, ‘mound’, ‘hill’.” Heaps “The name Heaps arrived in England after the Norman conquest of 1066. The Heaps family lived in Lancashire. Spelling variations include Heap, Heape and others. First found in Lancashire where they were seated in very early times and were granted land by Duke William of Normandy, their liege Lord, for their distinguished assistance at the Battle of Hastings in 1066.”
Blog powered by Typepad

Main | Where to Start ? »

11/17/2007

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Daniel Lockwood

Golden Heaps b. 1814 in England m. Elizabeth Ruff on 15 Nov.1846 in Doddington, Cambridgeshire England. She was b. April 1822 at Somersham, Hungtingdonshire England. They came to America ca 1855. Golden d. 15 Feb. 1897 and Elizabeth d. 24 March 1874. Both are buried at Providence in Barton Township, Gibson County IN. They were the parents of nine children.

Frank Heaps

Just came across this site very interesting keep up the good work.A little about me another Heaps,I was born in Whiston just outside Liverpool and grew up in Rainhill then Knowsely before moving down to London.My parents are George and Patricia,I have two sisters and 3 brothers,my grandparents on my fathers side lived in the Stanley Rd part of Liverpool and ran a bicycle shop,my mothers parents lived in the Knowsely area and worked for the local MP. I'm just starting on the long road to trace my family history but time is always against me but slowly slowly it will get there.You seem to have spent a lot of time and energy on yours so far and I wish you luck on your journey. Frank[francis sydney]Heaps.

Richard Heeps

Hi,
well this is very encouraging.
though I must say I am sceptical to say the least at the origin of 'Heap' etc. being that of someone who lived near a hill. Just how close or far to/from the hill do you need to be, to earn the name 'heap'? (And what other topographic features in the vicinity battle with the hill/heap for historical/genealogical immortality ?)

From what I have accumulated to date (not much), there doesn't seem to me much evidence of link between the scottish Heeps/Heaps of Polmont/Falkirk area (of which I am a descendant) and those from England. But surely such a screwy surname in two areas can not be unrelated ?

Thanks for your efforts, and for the opportunity to "belong"!
I shall be reading- and where relevant contributing - with interest.

Richard Heeps,
Victoria,
Australia

Julia McManus

My maiden name was Heaps. I was one of four children three boys Calvin Heaps who still lives in Preston. Raymond Heaps who now lives in London and my other brother Arthur Heaps who now lives in Sydney Australia My father John Heaps was the youngest of 8 children I think two died early but the rest were my Aunts and one Uncle Jim who had one son Michael Heaps who sadly is not now with us. My Grandad was also John Heaps who married Ellen Thakery and they were in business with shops and Farmers markets selling nice shoes to the public and farmers boots ect to the farming community. They also had stalls on Preston Market selling shoes and I often spent time at my Grandparents shop were the lived on Aldephi Street Preston opposite the Donkey House. To my knowledge there were other Heaps who were related and had business on the Adelphi I persume my Grandfather Heaps relatives but I never met any of them. At a recent exhibition of old Friagate held at the town libary I noticed a picture of Heaps yard which was next to the Lamb and Packet Hotel corner of Friagate,which is now part of the round about, which just happens to be where John Heaps wife Ellen Thakery grew up. Apparently it was a Hotel at the time. Love must have blossemed on the round about so to speak.

george heaps

This is all very interesting and I would like to know more about my family

The comments to this entry are closed.

Heaps Family History

  • I am researching my family - the Heaps family from Preston. I have a lot of information which I will be adding to this blog as time goes by. As a result of my research, I have decided to create a One Name Study for the surname Heaps and it's variants. If you are a Heaps, have any information on any of the Preston Heaps family, please email me or leave a comment. I look forward to hearing from you and adding your info to the study. Many thanks.