Heaps

  • Heap “English (chiefly Lancashire): habitational name from Heap Bridge in Lancashire, or a topographic name for someone who lived by a hill or heap, from Old English heap ‘heap’, ‘mound’, ‘hill’.” Heaps “The name Heaps arrived in England after the Norman conquest of 1066. The Heaps family lived in Lancashire. Spelling variations include Heap, Heape and others. First found in Lancashire where they were seated in very early times and were granted land by Duke William of Normandy, their liege Lord, for their distinguished assistance at the Battle of Hastings in 1066.”
Blog powered by Typepad

« Surname Distribution in the 1851 Census | Main | Census Dates »

11/17/2007

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Kim Heap

Hello

I Read with interest your Heap search
I belive my Grandfather Lawrence Leopold Heap born 1896 came down to London around 1900 wtih his Father John Tyson Heap after a family dispute.His Mothers maden mane was Jessie Salmon,
I understand they came from Lancashire.My trail seems very had to follow.Would be greatfull for any help you could give.


Thank You

Kim Heap

Carol Heap

I looking my Husband's Great-grandfather Henry (Harry) Heap. He was born in Manchester area about 1857-1860, he says 1860 on both his marriage certificates in USA. He came to US in 1883 , married 1st wife Ida Wetzel, sons - Harry & Albert, Ida died when only daughter Ida was born 1894. 2nd wife 1894 Clara Griffth, sons - George & James. Henry died in 1907 leaving Clara with 3 living children Harry, Ida & George to raise. Lived in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States.

Thank you for any help, anyone loose a branch of their tree in 1883?

Carol Heap
Florida, USA

[email protected]

[email protected]

Simon Jones

Hello. I am trying to research the Heaps branch in my family and i would really appreciate any help. All the information i have so far has come from my own research and is backed up with certificates and referenced against the census.
My Heaps start with Minnie Clara Heaps who was born in Aston (birmingham) in 1884, she married a William Hart. Her father was Andrew Heaps born in c1864 Walsall. His father was Walter Heaps who claims to have been born in Wakefield although i can not find his birth in the Parish registers. I have a list of the siblings of these people too.
I would love to hear from anyone with any information on any of the above.
Thankyou

Simon Jones

Bob Heaps

Hello,
I just came across this site and found it very interesting. I live in Canada but was born and raised in Blackburn Lancashire. I became interested in genealogy about 3 years ago.My family has shrunk and dispersed over the decades and I wanted to leave some family history for my grandchildren (I am 68 years old).
I have used the UK census 1841-1911, the Lancashire BMD and the On-Line Parish Clerks of Lancashire amongst other sources. I have traced a lot of the branches back to the early 1800's but after that it gets difficult.
When I have more time I will put together all I have found about the Heaps branch.
My email address is [email protected]

Regards, Bob Heaps

The comments to this entry are closed.

Heaps Family History

  • I am researching my family - the Heaps family from Preston. I have a lot of information which I will be adding to this blog as time goes by. As a result of my research, I have decided to create a One Name Study for the surname Heaps and it's variants. If you are a Heaps, have any information on any of the Preston Heaps family, please email me or leave a comment. I look forward to hearing from you and adding your info to the study. Many thanks.